Why Me?


Jeremiah 1:5

The Message (MSG)

“Before I shaped you in the womb,
I knew all about you.
Before you saw the light of day,
I had holy plans for you:
A prophet to the nations—
that’s what I had in mind for you.”

As I look back on my life and my walk with the Lord, I am forever reminded that before I was formed and came to be, He saw me, knew me and had a plan for me.  Satan has pursued me and attempted to stop me even when I was still in my mother’s womb. My spiritual walk has not been easy, has not been rosy, and has not been full of warm and fuzzy feelings.  No, it has been hard, tough, lean, mean and finally uncertain.  There has been very little comfort or understanding in the natural realm which is why most of my life I have felt like a foreigner in unfamiliar territory.  It has been a lonely and confusing place with no answers, comfort or understanding. This one thing I do know and the Lord has been steady to remind me that satan is threatened by God’s planned purpose for my life. I suppose that in itself  brings comfort in the midst of satan’s hot pursuit of my life.  It was a crazy notion to me; I could not grasp the weight of it.  How could I be a threat?  I am not that special nor do I see that I am all of that, to do a thing about a thing!  I don’t have any great talents, just ask my husband and children and they will tell you.  I do not have an aggressive personality but rather I am gentle spirited, laid back, extremely tender at heart and compassionate.   I simply could not see how I could be a threat or match to the dirty deeds of the devil.  Most of the time I was left bewildered and didn’t have a clue about what to do next.  My constant cry to the Lord was, “I know you have created me for something specific and I know that all of my troubles and hardships are to prepare me for a greater purpose but what is it?”  I get glimpses of the spiritual gifts and anointing on my life but then what?

My friend Crystal is responsible for ever so subtly pointing out spiritual gifts that I wasn’t even aware were in operation.  She would  say something like “oh, when you say things like that you scare me because they happen….”  It was only then that I became aware that Jesus showed up on the scene to say whatever lofty thing He wanted to say!! Crystal I love you for showing me that I am not crazy but the instrument of God’s plan.  Now when I get that “she’s crazy” look from people, I know that it is God’s deal not mine.  I thank you for being my friend and confidant as I struggled to get a grasp.  My deepest gratitude goes to you because in all of my uncertainty and confusion along the way, you never gave up on me. All the many times I stepped back waiting for a full and complete plan to fall into my lap, even then you never gave up on me.  No one on this planet says, “step out of the boat and begin,” like you do.   I thank God for the honor of Him planting you in my life!

I have recently learned to accept myself as God created me and have stopped comparing myself to everyone else. I don’t try to figure everything out or try to make sense out of things that will never make sense to the natural mind and quite frankly are none of my business.  So these days, I am less confused and more aware that this life I live,  is not mine to live but belongs to God to do what He chooses, to carry out what He had on His mind before He put me together.

If your walk with the Lord mirrors mine and you feel like a stranger walking through a strange land, then my prayer is that God will speak to you and give you comfort as I share my own journey’s from my beginning, in the quiet place, the place that God made “His Plan” for my life and then formed me, saw me…. knew me and in His Sovereign love protected, “His Plan.”

Satan first plotted and attempted to stop God’s plan for my life while I was still developing in my mother’s womb.  He failed as he has failed every time since then.  When God makes a plan no devil in hell can change it, intercept it or stop it!!!  “The Plan” itself, can’t even stop “The Plan.”  “The Plan” can be avoided, stalled, second guessed, and twisted….but it can never be stopped!  STAND STILL AND SEE THE SALVATION OF THE LORD!!!

How fitting that I should come across this message just before I click on the publish button.  God is in control of everything, every time and for all times!!  He might as well be sitting right in front of me speaking this message.     T.D. Jakes – “Why Me”      http://youtu.be/qfbz_4MPQ-E

And that dear friends describes and answers the questions of my life in a “nutshell!”  But this prodigal chick is right where God wants her to be….He is in the driver’s seat and He will deliver me to His planned destination.  All I have to do is sit back an enjoy the ride!

3 thoughts on “Why Me?

  1. I posted this in reply on my blog but copy and paste… want to make sure you got it.

    Yeah this grace thing ive been diving into has changed me and my perspective huge. I was challenged to stay solely in Romans 5-8 for a month. Ive never been good at following through but ive been in a spiritual desert for close to 5 years and I knew I had to do something. I sat down with a couple different translations (NIV, The Message, and The Mirror Translation) I would take one verse and read through it in each translation. I then went and wrote initial thoughts. Next I would pray and ask for revelation and contemplate. Go back write down what came of waiting on God to open up his word.God broke through and I realized that I had been under a works mentality. I was judging myself and cutting myself down before satan ever had a chance.Romans 5:16 NLTAnd the result of God�s gracious gift is very different from the result of that one man�s sin. For Adam�s sin led to condemnation, but God�s free gift leads to our being made right with God, even though we are guilty of many sins.Jesus died and his GRACE was available at the cross. If we could rely on our own abilities he would not have had to fo the cross deal. GRACE is a gift that makes it all possible. Because of grace we can go boldly before him. The following verse talks about looking into a mirror and seeing Gods reflection in us. Mirrors go two ways if we see Christ in us he sees us in him. Mirrors are also present time, not future, not past. He sees you in him perfect and blameless right now. You do not have to walk in condemnation. You do not have to achieve any level of goodness. He did it for you, its a free gift.2 Corinthians 3 : 18 (TMT )The days of window-shopping are over! In him every face is unveiled. In gazing with wonder at the blueprint likeness of God displayed in human form we suddenly realize that we are looking at ourselves! Every feature of his image is mirrored on us! This is the most radical transformation engineered by the Spirit of the Lord; we are lead from an inferior mind-set to the revealed endorsement of our authentic identity. Mankind in His glory!

Leave a Reply

