Jesus, How’d You Do It?


Jesus, how did you do it, how could you want to do it, for a sorry soul like me and every other one too?  I can never repay You for loving me that much.  I can’t take Your horrific pain and suffering away.  I can’t take Your blood and tears and make them count for something.  In all of my life, I can’t even straighten up and fly right.  Oh, but You Jesus, You know my every tear personally, my every pain, my every breath, my every everything!  Yet, You asked me for one thing and one thing only, you asked me to love You and to love everyone as much as You love me.  Well, that sounds pretty simple but oh my-lanta, it is not!  I do pretty good with the whole love thing when I am loving Your easy ones.  But just an hour ago, You saw me blow it with one of  Your harder cases and now I am right back to that sorry soul like me.  Jesus, if  it is alright with You, I will take a little of Your blood and a lot of Your mercy and try again next time.  Please help me be more like You, help me love like You love and help me to love the unlovely as though they are lovely.  Please hurry Jesus because I’m getting on my own nerves!! I really don’t know how You do it, how can You save a sorry soul like me!

So here it is, the song of the day that I picked just for you!  “Beer With Jesus” – Thomas Rhett    http://youtu.be/dphMriny1Js

(Now I know it’s beer but we believers can pretend it’s grape juice because at the end of the day this musician and his song is bringing in (for us) boatloads of souls but for those that don’t know our Jesus, well bar rooms of souls all over the world!)  Yea, kind of like a modern-day evangelist, how cool is that!

    • If I could have a beer with Jesus
    • Heaven knows I’d sip it nice and slow
    • I’d try to pick a place that ain’t too crowded
    • Or gladly go wherever he wants to go
    • You can bet I’d order up a couple tall ones
    • Tell the waitress put ’em on my tab
    • I’d be sure to let him do the talkin’
    • Careful when I got the chance to ask
    • How’d you turn the other cheek
    • To save a sorry soul like me
    • Do you hear the prayers I send
    • What happens when life ends
    • And when you think you’re comin’ back again
    • I’d tell everyone, but no one would believe it
    • If I could have a beer with Jesus
    • If I could have a beer with Jesus
    • I’d put my whole paycheck in that jukebox
    • Fill it up with nothing but the good stuff
    • Sit somewhere we couldn’t see a clock
    • Ask him how’d you turn the other cheek
    • To save a sorry soul like me
    • Have you been there from the start
    • How’d you change a sinner’s heart
    • And is heaven really just beyond the stars
    • I’d tell everyone, but no one would believe it
    • If I could have a beer with Jesus
    • He can probably only stay, for just a couple rounds
    • But I hope and pray he’s stayin’ till we shut the whole place down
    • Ask him how’d you turn the other cheek
    • To save a sorry soul like me
    • What’s on the other side?
    • Is mom and daddy alright?
    • And if it ain’t no trouble tell them I said hi
    • I’d tell everyone but no one would believe it
    • If I could have a beer with Jesus
    • I’d tell everyone but no one would believe it
    • If I could have a beer with Jesus

I happen to believe that my Jesus would gladly sit right down and have that beer and spend time catching up.  After putting up with me, that would truly be Happy Hour!!

Until next time…. Love you like Jesus!

4 thoughts on “Jesus, How’d You Do It?

  1. Pingback: Love Bites - Mutual Spiritual Affinity

Leave a Reply

